Sabina Alumni holds 134th meeting

News Journal

The Sabina Alumni Association gathered for the 134th time. Shown is the Class of ‘67.

Courtesy photo

Members of the Sabina Alumni Association came together at the 134th annual meeting June 3 at the Sabina Elementary School to reminisce about their days as students. Attending were 170 members and guests.

President Joyce Arrasmith welcomed the members and guests. Phil Snow offered the invocation. A delicious buffet dinner of pulled pork and honey pecan chicken was prepared and served by Traditions Restaurant.

The oldest member present was Dale Hiles from the 1942 class. The members traveling the farthest were Dennis and Carol Sue Reese Rankin. All received a gift certificate.

Those attending from the honored classes beginning with the 70-year class of 1947 was David Morris.

From the 65-year class of 1952 was Marilyn Locke Combs.

From the 60-year class of 1957 were Jim Parkison, Deanna Denehy Lyon, Carol Sue Reese Rankin, Denny Rankin, John Locke, Olive Gallup Goings, Ed Kuehn, Rosemary Wilson Almendinger, Gwen Fraley Cherney, Ella Mae Davis Nunley, Sue Smith Wilson, Barbara Pauley Wilson, LaVonne Brewer Whitenack and Ron Stewart.

From the 55-year class of 1962 were Mary Ann Jarrell Powell, Ruby Huff Kessler, Patty Brewer Hottinger, John Kuehn, Barbara Davis Kuehn, Penny Davis Richard, Connie Pinion Yerion, Ella Mae Hedrick Tucker, Jo Ann Briggs Snow, Dean Snow and Barry Reese.

From the 50-year class of 1967 from East Clinton were Joyce Arrasmith, Derrall Everman, Karen Elzey Kimmey, Donna Mathews Lambert, Chuck McMillan, Brenda Garber Rittenhouse, Mike Whited Bonnie Armstrong Debold, Greg Linkhart, Linda Peelle Moore, Connie Rice Sears and Rita Thomas Wolf.

Deceased alumni members since the 2016 meeting were remembered in a moment of silent meditation. They were 1940 Aleen Smith Tyo; 1944 Betty Bernard Ardwin, Mildred Coder Hamilton, Mary Ellen Bottenfield Pierce and Marvin Waddle; 1945 Don Frisby, Virginia Hargrave Kelley, Terry Moore and Joann Sparks; 1947 Charlotte Sheley Bean, Betty Bennett Cardiff and Ella Mae Ray Gaines; 1948 Barth Littleton and James Roberds; 1949 Albertine Rittenhouse Cramer; 1951 Danea Arehart Showen; 1955 Ernestine Wisecup Johnson; 1962 Judy Bentley Schock; 1965 Teresa Tillis Carl; 1966 Larry Begley; and 1967 James Michael.

The 135th alumni banquet will be held June 2, 2018.

Slate of officers for 2018 are President Lois Steiner, 1st Vice President Beverly Parkison Yee, 2nd Vice President Carol Sue Reese Rankin, Recording Secretary Patty Pauley Reese and Corresponding Secretary Diane Arrasmith Anders.

The Sabina Alumni Association gathered for the 134th time. Shown is the Class of ‘67. Sabina Alumni Association gathered for the 134th time. Shown is the Class of ‘67. Courtesy photo

News Journal