Nominations sought for WHS athletic hall of fame

News Journal Staff

The Wilmington High School Hurricane Athletic Hall of Fame is seeking nominations for the upcoming 2016 Class.

Nomination forms can be found on the athletics website at

Current members of the WHS Hall of Fame are:

2008: Oakie Waddell, Gary Downing.

2009: Dwight Wallace, Mike Wilson, John Petty, Kerry L. Baker, Gary Williams, Louisa Gerritz Garry, Greg Nared, Katrina Butcher.

2010: Dr. John C. Hutchens, Mark A. Smith, Marvin Gregory, Tony Berlin, Kathy Sprenz McCord.

2011: Gabby Wedding, Wayne “Bucky” Scott, Fred Summers, Lyn Brooks Manos, Rod Telfair, Bill Marine Ford, 1955 boys basketball, 1963 football.

2012: Casey Seeger Reed, David Gray, Steve Cluxton, Mike Wallace, Dr. John Williams, Bush Auto, 1971 baseball, 1999 girls golf.

2013: Jim Bailey, Mickey Vanscoy, Nick Smith, David Wagenseller, Desireé Jones, Dr. Nathan Hale, Melvin Stone, 1990 softball, 1995 boys golf.

2014: Jim Conner, Doug Zeigler, Candy Burns Maze, Ashley Johnson Wolf, Michelle Pierson, 2000 girls track/field.

News Journal Staff