6 local winners advance in Elks Hoop Shoot contest

Six local athletes have advanced to the Elks Hoop Shoot district event Jan. 14 at Wilmington High School. The local event was held earlier this month. The local winners advancing are Emery McGraw (8-9 year old girls division winner), Brayden Beckett (8-9 year old boys), Mackenzie Price (10-11 year old girls), Dalton Earley (10-11 year old boys), Nelly Brown (12-13 year old girls) and Gunnar Martin (12-13 year old boys). The runnersup were Lyra Fair (8-9 girls), Kamden Garrison (8-9 boys), Sophie Shaffer (10-11 girls), AJ Ashcraft (10-11 boys), Baylee Crawford (12-13 girls) and Trevor Allgeyer (12-13 boys). In the photo, Elks 797 Hoop Shoot age group winners and runnersup, from left to right, top row, Lyra Fair, Emery McGraw, Brayden Beckett, Kamden Garrison, Mackenzie Price, Dalton Earley; bottom row, AJ Ashcraft, Nelly Brown, Baylee Crawford, Gunnar Martin, Trevor Allgeyer, Sophie Shaffer