4th/FINAL UPDATE: Wilmington Schools tax renewal defeated; Blan Schools tax defeated; Blan referendum is shy 4 votes (36 of 36 precincts reporting)

News Journal

Wilmington school district voters rejected the 1-percent tax renewal for the third time, 3,413-3,054, while in Blanchester the schools’ income tax also failed, 1,201-1,078 in unofficial Tuesday night totals from the general election.

Blan’s village earnings tax referendum was failing by a 4-vote margin, 612-608.

The WCS proposed five-year income tax renewal was defeated at the ballot box both this past spring and last fall.

The BLS tax failed once before, by 35 votes in the primary.

In Clinton County, all three Republican incumbents ran unopposed: Commissioner Mike McCarty (11,508 votes), Auditor Terry Habermehl (11,418), and Treasurer Kyle Rudduck (11,444).

Turnout was 51.2 percent of registered voters.


Unofficial: Clinton County votes

only (unless noted otherwise)


Wilmington City Schools

1% income tax renewal, 5 years

For 3,054

• Against 3,413

Blanchester Local Schools

1.25% income tax, 6 years

For 1,078 (+63 in Warren Co.)

• Against 1,201 (+46 in Warren Co.)

Village of Blanchester referendum

on proposed 1% earnings tax

Yes 608

No 612

Clark Township (including Martinsville)

0.75-mill tax levy renewal, EMS services, 5 years

• For 431

Against 233

Clark Township (including Martinsville)

0.7-mill tax levy renewal, fire protection, 5 years

• For 441

Against 220

Clark Township

1-mill tax levy renewal, fire protection, 5 years

• For 416

Against 245

Richland Township (including Sabina)

1-mill tax levy renewal, cemeteries, 5 years

• For 564

Against 367

Washington Township

0.85-mill tax levy renewal, fire protection, 5 years

• For 555

Against 286

Ohio Issue 1

(Proposed constitutional amendment: To require courts to consider factors like public safety when setting the amount of bail)

Yes 11,450

No 2,201

Ohio Issue 2

(Proposed constitutional amendment: To prohibit local government from allowing non-electors to vote)

Yes 11,742

No 1,955


(Contested only)

State of Ohio


Mike DeWine (R) 11,240

Nan Whaley (D) 2,520

Attorney General

Jeffrey Crossman (D) 2,715

Dave Yost (R) 11,142


Keith Faber (R) 10,907

Taylor Sappington (D) 2,830

Secretary of State

Chelsea Clark (D) 2,754

Frank LaRose (R) 10,936

Tore Maras 115


Scott Schertzer (D) 2,789

Robert Sprague (R) 10,976

Supreme Court Chief Justice (1-1-23)

Jennifer Brunner (D) 3,043

Sharon Kennedy (R) 10,785

Supreme Court Justice (1-1-23)

Pat Fischer (R) 10,754

Terri Jamison (D) 3,031

Supreme Court Justice (1-2-23)

Pat DeWine (R) 10,668

Marilyn Zayas (D) 3,065

U.S. Senator

Tim Ryan (D) 3,488

JD Vance (R) 10,285

US Rep (2nd District)

Samantha Meadows (D) 2,963

Brad Wenstrup (R) 10,834

State Rep (71st District)

Bill Dean (R) 10,766

James Duffee (D) 2,939


News Journal