8 basketball players from county earn 1st team SCOL honors

News Journal Staff

Eight players from Clinton County were named to the first-team All-South Central Ohio League boys and girls basketball squads.

Wilmington’s boys, champions of the league with one game to play, earned three places on the first team boys basketball squad led by senior Jarron Cumberland. Senior Cameron Stewart and sophomore Dylan Beaugard also were named to the first team in boys basketball.

East Clinton sophomore Wyatt Floyd and Clinton-Massie sophomore Trey Uetrecht were named to the first team as well.

Chris Wolary, a junior at Wilmington, was the lone county player to be named to the boys basketball second team.

On the girls side, Clinton-Massie had two places on the girls basketball first team — senior Miquela Santoro and senior Madison Purkey.

Wilmington freshman Mya Jackson was named to the first team squad for the girls.

Second teamers in girls basketball from the county were Wilmington sophomore Faith Sanderson, Clinton-Massie junior Savanna Meyers and East Clinton freshman Lacey Peterman.

The remainder of the boys basketball first team consisted of Branden Maughmer from Chillicothe; Jacob Starkey from McClain; DJ Brown from Hillsboro; Deandre Pettiford, Tyrae Pettiford and Blake Pittser from Miami Trace; and Max Knisley and Cameron Eckles from league runnerup Washington.

Second-teamers were Kristian Boltenhouse of Chillicothe and Phillip Mycroft of Hillsboro.

For the girls, first teamers were Osh Brown and Shawnee Smith of Chillicothe; Taylor Polley and Malea Montavon of McClain; Madison Snyder of Hillsboro; Tanner Bryant and Victoria Fliehman of Miami Trace; Hannah Haithcock of Washington.

Second-teamers were Jasmine Jordan of Chillicothe; Sam Ritenour and Hanna Reisinger of Miami Trace.

News Journal Staff