Cross country season ends with district races

The season for Clinton County’s cross country runners ended Saturday at two sites for the district races.

In the Division I Boys Race A at Cedarville’s Elvin R. King Cross Country Course, Wilmington was ninth overall in the team standings. Lebanon, Tippecanoe, Northmont, Fairmont and Troy were the five team qualifiers.

Ben Blaumeiser of Fairmont won the race in 16:24.2.

Garrett Stoffer was 34th in 18:01.2 and was the top runner for the Hurricane. The top 20 individuals qualified for the district race.

Josh Andrews was 41st in 18:16.5, Tyler Preston 52nd in 19:02.7, Noah Geggie 61st in 19:48.4, Oliver McDermott 73rd in 21:22.4, Tony Wilens-Mabry 77th in 21:45.7 and Brandon Walters 78th in 22:07.7.

In the girls A race at Cedarville, Wilmington did not have a full team. Lebanon, Centerville, Beavercreek and Fairmont were team qualifiers. The top 16 individuals qualified for districts.

Faith Duncan of Lebanon was the race winner in 18:03.3.

Sophie Huffman was the first runner to cross the line for Wilmington, finishing 30th in 21:25.4. Madilyn Brausch ran 37th in 21:59.8.

In the Division III Girls race at Voice of America Park, East Clinton was seventh. The Lady Astros were fresh off their first-ever league cross country championship.

EC’s Carah Antek was 18th in 22:03.7. The top 16 runners qualified for the district meet.

Molly Seabaugh was 26th in 22:47.2, Kaylyn Deaton was 40th in 24:25.5, Kailyn Mason 54th 26:28.0 and Kenton Deaton 72nd in 30:15.8.

Abby Heck of Seven Hills won the race in 19:59.7. The top four teams were Madeira, Summit Country Day, Seven Hills and the Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy.

In the Division II Boys Race A at Voice of America Park, East Clinton finished 10th while Blanchester did not have a complete team.

Badin, McNicholas and Indian Hill were the top three teams and advanced to the districts. The top 12 individuals advanced to districts as well.

Owen Mathews of Badin was the race winner in 16:15.8.

Nick Musselman of Blanchester was the top county runner in this race, placing 41st in 19:16.5. Justin Arnold of East Clinton was 41rd in 19:27.0.

Other runners for BHS were Brett Bandow 49th in 19:45.4 and Drew Wyss 61st in 21:09.7.

Other EC runners were Zach Vest 46th in 19:38.4; Dylan Arnold 53rd in 19:54.2, Van Frye 67th in 21:57.2, Michael Horn 68th in 22:05.2 and Hayden Beiting 70th in 22:21.2.

In the Division II Boys Race B at VOA, Massie did not have a full team. Mariemont, Madeira and Fenwick were the team qualifiers.

Bennett Turan of Mariemont was the race winner in 16:24.

Jacob Ryan was 26th in 19:18.1 for Massie and Bryce Hensley was 28th in 19:26.6.

In the girls Division II A race at VOA, Clinton-Massie had just one runner, Emma Muterspaw who was 29th in with a time of 24:35.1.

Maura Mathews of Badin won the race in 19:29.8. Wyoming and Badin were the top teams and advanced to the districts.