Wightman Award winners to be honored Tuesday at EC track, field meet

News Journal Report

The past 10 winners of the Brett Wightman Award will be honored Tuesday at the East Clinton Invitational track and field meet at ECHS.

East Clinton, Clinton-Massie, Wilmington, London, Fayetteville and Leesburg Fairfield are scheduled to participate in the meet.

Field events are set to begin at 4:30 p.m. with running events scheduled to start at 5 p.m.

The past winners of the Wightman Award, presented to an East Clinton senior that shows character and dedication to the school’s track and field program, are:

2006 – Elizabeth Wilson

2007 – Samantha Bean

2008 – Jacob Wilson

2009 – Sammi Saville

2010 – Kirstin Woodruff

2011 – Matt Morrow

2012 – Nelson Grimm

2013 – Max Morrow

2014 – Caleb Broughton

2015 – Levi Luttrell

Wightman is a former East Clinton track and field athlete who was killed in 2005 during Operation Iraqi Freedom.


News Journal Report