WHS Athletic Hall of Fame to induct 4 on Oct. 7

News Journal Report

The Wilmington High School Athletic Hall of Fame will induct four new members during football homecoming festivities in the fall.

Kurt Blohm, Mike Taylor, Brent Patton and Lisa Arehart will be inducted Oct. 7. Wilmington will host Washington in a football game that day.

Blohm, a 2002 graduate, was a state swimming champion in the 100 yard backstroke in 2002. He was a NISCA High School All America swimmer, a three-time Division 1 state qualifier (2000, 2001, 2002), a sixth place finisher in the 50 freestyle in 2002, the FAVC Swimmer of the Year, a member of 2001 FAVC champion boys soccer team. In college at Hope College, Blohm was the 2005 NCAA Div. III national runner-up in the 50 freestyle, a two-time Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Most Valuable Swimmer (2005, 2006).

Taylor earned nine varsity letters (four in baseball, four in basketball, one in football) during his WHS tenure. The 1988 graduate, was the Southwest District Boys Basketball Player of the Year in 1988 and earned first team All-Ohio honors as well.

Patton, also a 1988 graduate, earned nine varsity letters (three in football, three in baseball, three in baseball. He was a an All-SCOL performer in football in 1987 and 1988. As a member of the Ohio University football team, Patton was a Mid-American Conference Scholar-Athlete.

Arehart, a 1986 graduate, earned four varsity letters in basketball and three in track/field. She is eighth all-time in scoring for the girls basketball program with 911 points. The former Lisa Eichelberger was a second team Class AAA All-Southwest District basketball player in 1986 and earned honorable mention All-Ohio in 1986. She was a regional track and field qualifier as a member of the mile relay and the 880-yard relay teams as well as the long jump. She was a member of the 1985 SCOL champion girls track and field team at WHS.

All four athletes are members of the Clinton County Sports Hall of Fame.


News Journal Report