135 BHS alumni, guests gather


The Blanchester High School Alumni Association met May 23 n the auditeria of Blanchester High School with 135 alumni and guests in attendance.

The evening began with a social hour allowing classmates to reminisce and catch up on the latest happenings in each others’ lives. This time also gave guest the opportunity to participate in the raffle fundraiser with items donated by BHS alumni and area businesses: Cherry Primitive Corner, O’Reilly Auto, Advance Auto Parts, Auto Zone, UDF, Moore’s Garden Center, Laura Summers “1964”, Ladies from the Class of 1981, Diana Miller (1980), and the Main Street Mall.

Alumni President Diana Miller (1980) welcomed guests and introduced Boy Scout Troop 47 for the Presentation of Colors followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Rodney Lane led the Pledge and offered the blessing before the gathering enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner served by McCoy Catering. The tables were decorated in Blanchester High School’s colors of blue and white. Entertainment was provided by Blanchester Community Theater directed by Jane Perkins.

Mary Crone Murphy (1972) reminded everyone of the reason for the empty table and chair in their midst prepared to remind us of the soldiers who have families waiting for them to come home and for those soldiers who have paid the ultimate price.

The business meeting began with Diana Miller inviting Blanchester High School Principal Rick Hosler to welcome the alumni, as well as the Class of 2015. He introduced the Alumni Scholarship winners, and Jack Fisher presented recipients their checks. The Class of 1965 raised more than $1,000 of the scholarship funds. Scholarship winners: were Abigail Gundler $1000, Molly McMullen $500, Isabella Cook $500, and Zane Bolin $500.

The Class of 1965 celebrated their 50th Graduation Anniversary with 27 members in attendance. Jack Fisher spoke on behalf of his class and introduced his classmates in attendance. Special recognition was given to Mary Murphy for being the first to RSVP and donate to scholarship fund. Carlton Binkley was recognized for attending for 71 years without missing one alumni banquet. Cloie McCollum from the Class of 1937 was recognized most senior graduate in attendance and Carol Strong Tyson from the Class of 1965 was recognized for having traveled the farthest, coming all the way from Boulder City, Nevada to attend the event.

Historian John Simpson spoke of many special memories and recognized those who have passed away over the last year, and he also respectfully submitted his resignation as Alumni Historian, a position he has held for last 30 years. Patty Williams (1973) will now serve as the BHS Alumni Historian.

Mr. Barry Michaelson officiated the drawing of raffle tickets as the officers passed the raffle winners out prizes to the winners. President Diana Miller then pointed out the prior year’s Secretary and Treasurer Reports placed at each place setting. The motion to accept the Secretary’s Report was made by Mr. Cary and seconded by Mr. Kennedy. Sarah Lowman motioned to accept the Treasurer’s Report and seconded by Pat Williams. Diana Miller announced Debbie Blocker (1973) resignation as secretary. Paul Jackson moved to accept the nomination of Dwayne Dearth (1969) as secretary, seconded by Ida Miller. Motion carried Next year’s meeting of the Blanchester Alumni Association will be held on May 28, 2016.

Information for this article was provided by Ida Miller (1981), Secretary Pro Temp.

A remake of the Class of 1965 varsity lettermen — Dick Miller, Eddie Pagett and Gene Gilbert.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/22/2015/07/web1_BlanAlumnicr.jpgA remake of the Class of 1965 varsity lettermen — Dick Miller, Eddie Pagett and Gene Gilbert.

Staff report

No posts to display