Two local eighth-graders earn national Invention Convention honors


Two local eighth-graders were honored recently for their ingenuity at the seventh annual Raytheon Technologies Invention Convention U.S. Nationals powered by The Henry Ford.

“Danny Mefford and Aiden Peelle, Blanchester and Wilmington,” were among over 68 award-winning K-12 inventors from across the nation who were celebrated at the awards ceremony held on June 3, according to a news release.

They earned the Environmental and Sustainability Industry Award and Raytheon Technologies Technology of Tomorrow Award for “Neptune: The Saver of the Sea” — “a submersible autonomous robotic device that helps break down microplastics in our oceans into harmless compounds such as H2O. Our invention solves the problem of microplastics by using an ultraviolet light system and a photocatalytic filter to break down these dangerous pollutants.”

Invention Convention Worldwide is a global K-12 invention education curricular program mapped to national and state educational standards that teaches students problem-identification, problem-solving, entrepreneurship, and creativity skills. The program helps young inventors build lifelong confidence in their invention, innovation, and entrepreneurship abilities.

Following two years of holding the competition virtually, Raytheon Technologies Invention Convention U.S. Nationals returned to its in-person home at The Henry Ford for its seventh annual event. Prior to advancing to the US national event, students competed at local and regional levels. To participate in Invention Convention, students had to submit a video presentation of their invention, a prototype, an inventor’s logbook showing the journey of their invention process, and a display board highlighting key points of the invention process.

Prizes and opportunities this year included pro bono patent awards from law firms WilmerHale, Cantor Colburn, Cooley, and Clark Hill, gift cards, and scholarships from the event’s sponsors, including title sponsor Raytheon Technologies. The winner of the event’s top accolade, the Raytheon Technologies Most Innovative Award, received a $2,500 scholarship.

Peelle Courtesy photos

Mefford Courtesy photos

No posts to display